The following FAQs are for VerticalResponse Classic customers who will be upgrading to the newest version of the VerticalResponse app.
Q: Why is this happening?
A: VerticalResponse developed a newer version of our app a few years ago. It’s time for us to focus all of our development attention on the new app.
Q: Are you going to force me to switch now?
A: No. Right now, upgrading to VerticalResponse Classic is voluntary. However, sometime during 2019 we will make this mandatory as we will be stopping our support for the older version of VerticalResponse. If you prefer not to switch now, you have that option. However, you should be aware that we will be requiring all customer to move to the new version in 2019. That exact date has not been determined yet.
Q: When is this happening?
A: We started migrating segments of customers in mid-January of 2019. You’ll receive an email that will tell you when we are ready to switch you to the new platform. The communication will provide you more details about how the upgrade process will work. Also, you will receive a message within the app itself that will alert you to when you are eligible to upgrade through this process.
THE UPGRADE PROCESS
Q: How does the upgrade process work? What do I have to do?
A: It’s relatively simple to upgrade your account. What we need from you is to identify the email templates (up to 5) that you would like us to automatically switch to your new account. You can do this by going to the migration page that will appear in your account. This can be accessed from a new "Upgrade” tab that will appear in the top navigation, just to the right of Help. If the tab is not there, it means your account is not eligible to be migrated yet.
You can select your most commonly used templates that will be moved over that can be used in the new editor. Pick your templates, click the confirmation button and the upgrade process will begin.
Q: How long does it take?
A: It should take around an hour to complete the migration. During this timeframe you will not be able to use your account. Be on the lookout for an email we’ll send you to let you know that it is complete. You’ll then be able to login using your existing credentials to access your new account.
Q: What if I have email campaigns already scheduled to be sent out with my VerticalResponse Classic account?
A: Before you agree to upgrade your account, you will need to ensure that any campaigns that you have already scheduled to be sent out are either sent out or cancelled. Once the upgrade process begins, any emails that have been scheduled from your Classic account cannot be sent out.
Q: Will I still have access to my VerticalResponse Classic account?
A: Yes, but it will be read only access. From your new account, you can toggle to view your reports and emails that are currently in your VerticalResponse Classic account, but you will not be able to send any email campaigns from that platform any further.
Q: Is my login changing?
A: No. Your login credentials will remain the same.
Q. What if I have more than 5 templates that I want moved over?
A: The upgrade process will only automatically move up to five templates. If you have additional templates that you’d like to move over you can do so after the upgrade is complete. There are a couple of steps to go through as you’ll need to copy, edit and paste the HTML code. Please contact Customer Support for assistance either via email firstname.lastname@example.org or call us at 855-333-1055.
Instructions to copy templates from your Classic account to the new app:
Q: What if I don’t want to use the new editor? I’m used to the Classic version.
A: The new editor provides some great extras that the Classic editor does not have, including 100% of the templates are mobile friendly, automatic follow up emails, pop up forms and landing pages. However, we understand if you want to stick with what you know. So, we have moved a version of the Classic editor into your new account so you’ll still have access to it. Your new account will have access to both the new email editor we’ve developed and a version of the Graphical Editor that you’re used to seeing in your Classic account.
To use the new editor, just click on “Start a New Email Campaign”. If you want to use the editor you used in Classic, start a new email campaign, click on “Import HTML “, and then select “Graphical Editor”.
Check out this quick video on how to find the Graphical Editor in your VerticalResponse account:
Q: How can I learn more about how to use the new editor?
A: You have a few options to get familiar with the new editor:
Q: How do I access the email templates I selected during the migration process?
A: The email templates brought over from your Classic account will be located in the Messages area and will be labeled as “Drafts”. You can either copy that email or click on it to edit it. Once you click to edit you will be taken to HTML section where there is a tab called “Graphical Editor”. You can use this version of the email editor to update your templates.
Q: Can I switch back to VerticalResponse Classic once the upgrade is complete?
A: You will not be able to switch back to the Classic version once you have been upgraded. However, you can toggle to the Classic version to see your old account. It will be a read only version of the account. To send out email campaigns, you’ll need to use your new account.
CONTACTS & FORMS
Q: Will my contacts be moved over?
A: Yes, all your contacts from your Classic account will be moved over automatically during the migration process. Once you login to your new account, click on the “Contacts” tab to see all your contact lists. Please note that although we are moving all your contacts over, we will only be moving over lists that you have used in the past 18 months.
Q: Will my Sign Up Forms from my Classic account still work?
A: Because your account is getting upgraded to the new platform, you’ll need to create a new Signup Form within your new account. Your Classic Signup Form will no longer collect contacts. You can quickly and easily create a new Signup Form. Click on the “Contacts” tab and select “Create Signup Form”. For detailed instructions in creating a Sign Up Form click here.
Q: Will my plan change?
The dollar amount you are paying on a monthly basis will not change and the number of contacts in your account will not decrease. We will be switching your VerticalResponse Classic plan to the closest matching Basic plan. Upon completion of the upgrade, your VerticalResponse Classic account will be cancelled from a billing perspective. If you are billed monthly, your next billing date on your new VerticalResponse Basic plan will occur at least 30 days after the date you choose to migrate. If you are on a semi-annual or annual plan, you will be charged at your planned renewal date. For example, if your Classic renewal date if May 20th and we migrate you on May 17th, your Classic account is effectively cancelled on May 17th. You will not be billed for your new account until May 20th.
Q: How do overage charges work with the VerticalResponse Basic plan?
If you don’t email over 10 times the number of contacts you have in a month then there are no overage charges ever applied to your account. Overage charges only apply to tier plans with 40,0001 or more contacts. The overage fee is $1.50 per thousand. For example, if you are in a tier that has up to 100,000 contacts, you can email up to 1,000,000 email messages in a month. If you actually emailed 1,050,000, then you would be charged 1.50 times 50 or $75.00 for the 50,000 emails that are over the limit. Overage charges are applied on a monthly basis.